Winners – Project on Plastic Waste and Recycling

The Wayanad District team of 5 girls from various schools in Wayanad won First prize in the “Student Parliament for a Garbage Free Kerala” competition organized by Mathrubhumi and VKC Nanma. Amrita Vidyalayam, Mananthavady student, Aswini Gopinath was a member of the winning team. The project they presented was called “Plastic Waste and Recycling”. The girls received training from Sri T. Ashokan (GHS, Beenachi) and Sri Saji Thomas (De Paul Public School, Kalpetta).

The members of the winning team were honoured by District Panchayat President T. Ushakumari in a function presided over by Mathrubhumi Books Manager T.V. Ravindran. Mathrubhumi Social Initiative Organizer P.D. Anish and Nanma District Coordinator U.A. Ajmal Sajid also spoke at the function. The team presented the prize-winning project report to the Panchayat President.